Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime

"There are no happy endings. Endings are the saddest part, So just give me a happy middle and a very happy start." -Shel Silverstein

Flannel Friday: I Took My Frog to the Library

on May 20, 2011

It’s that time again, #flannelfriday!  This week I am sharing what I use when I tell the story, I Took My Frog to the Library By: Eric Kimmel.  This is a great book to use in ST as well as class visits.  We had teen volunteers draw the templates to make these little guys, and they did a pretty darn good job! 

The great thing about these ones that were made is that you can use them on a flannel board OR as… finger puppets!

Giraffe likes to hang with Bob Ross Duck

This is my favorite way to use them.  I will say it’s very hard to put ALL them on your fingers at the end of the story, but the kids have such a fun time laughing at me while I try to do it.  It’s pretty entertaining.  Also, I do want to add that I did change the story just a tad.  I changed the part in the book that says that the “hen laid an egg on the card catalog” to, “she laid an egg on the computer keyboard”.  So, it’s now a little more modern and the kids understand it more. 

Well, I hope you enjoyed this weeks installment of #flannelfriday, be sure to check back next week!

6 responses to “Flannel Friday: I Took My Frog to the Library

  1. MelissaZD says:

    Those animals are GREAT. I haven’t read this book in a long time! *goes to put it on hold RIGHT NOW*

  2. Katie says:

    I love that these are finger puppets as well as flannelboard creations! I’ve got to start making some of my flannels as puppets too. And I’m so impressed by your teen volunteers — great animals!

  3. [...] I Took My Frog to the Library from Nicole at Narrating Tales of Preschool [...]

  4. Anne says:

    We don’t use teen volunteers here, but we have some on staff as pages and the girls especially LOVE to help make flannels and bulletin boards. Although anything is better than shelf-reading, I guess! :)

    Your teens did a great job! Do they know they are famous on the Internet? :)

  5. [...] version of I Took My Frog to the Library by Eric Kimmel from Narrating Tales of Preschool [...]

  6. [...] I Took My Frog to the Library By: Eric Kimmel (with finger puppets!) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

