Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime

"There are no happy endings. Endings are the saddest part, So just give me a happy middle and a very happy start." -Shel Silverstein

Alphabet Storytime! A is for…

Today was my first storytime in about three months and it was so much fun!  I wasn’t sure what kind of crowds we were going to get because of our new building and being closed for so long.  I had 16 people in my first group and they were very good listeners and not too wild.  Now in my second group I had 27 people and it was a whole nother story.  Lets just say I was already losing my voice from the first one, and this one made it go almost completely away.  They all participated and had lots of fun, they were just slightly noisier.  Overall both ST sessions went very well.  Here is an outline of what we did this week:

Our Welcome song is Can’t Wait to Celebrate By: Jim Gill

We learned some sign language for things that began with the letter “A”.

We played “Little Mouse”.  This is by far my favorite thing about ST.  The kids come back every week ready to choose a house that they think little mouse is hiding behind.  Plus, you can’t help but love the little rhyme that goes along with it.

We read Chicka Chicka Boom Boom By: Bill Martin Jr. and John Archambault.  I had a feltboard along with it so the kids could help me put the letters on the coconut tree.

 

Sang Alabama, Mississippi By: Jim Gill.  We used egg shakers along with the song.

Next we did the folder story for Alpha-Gator.

After that we did the rhyme/song 5 Little Monkeys Swinging in the Tree.

For our last thing we did our goodbye rhyme!

It was a great storytime and I can’t wait for next week’s!

3 Comments »