Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime

"There are no happy endings. Endings are the saddest part, So just give me a happy middle and a very happy start." -Shel Silverstein

Beach Partaaaaay!

on July 29, 2010

My most recent special program I did was a beach party for preschoolers.  I decided to make it a brief storytime then the main part of it was the children going to different stations to do different things.  Let me just say, IT WAS AWESOME.  I started off by reading I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean, and of course all the kids loved it.  Next we sang the sharks in the sea go chomp, chomp, chomp to the tune of The Wheels on the Bus.  I had puppets that I used and everything!  Here is the song:

Sharks in the sea go chomp chomp chomp

Fish in the sea go swim swim swim

Octopus wiggle wiggle wiggle

Crabs pinch pinch pinch

Clams open and shut open and shut open and shut

So that was my brief ST.  Next I told all the kids about each station they got to go to.  There were a total of 5 stations and thank goodness for teen volunteers, they were great station helpers.  Here are the stations: 

Station #1-Sea Snacks.  This was by far my favorite station.  I wish I would have taken a picture of it but you will have to use your imagination instead.  I made blue Jell-O in clear plastic cups.  Basically each kid got make their own beach in a cup.  We crushed vanilla wafers and that made our sand.  We had goldfish crackers, swedish fish AND a giant gummy octopus.  To top it all off I had mini paper umbrellas.  The kids absolutely loved it.

Station #2-Beach Ball Bowling.  I found some inflatable bowling pins in our storage closet, yes, we have lots of random stuff in there.  Anyways, I got some cheap mini beach balls and the kids got to go beach ball bowling!  After they knocked them all down they got a fish sticker.

Station #3-Treasure Hunt.  I bought some sand from our local Lowes home improvement store, it was really cheap and REALLY HEAVY.  Thanks Seth.  Anyways, I poured it into a bin and buried all kinds of treasure for the kids to find. 

Station #4-Sea Shape Painting.  This was simple.  I cut out different sea shapes from out die cut machine and the kids got to pick one to paint with watercolors. 

Station #5-Beach in a Bottle.  I collected old water bottles and the kids got to fill a bottle with sand and all kinds of other things.  Sea shells, sequins, beads etc.

Overall this was a great program to do, especially if you have the extra help!

2 responses to “Beach Partaaaaay!

  1. Anne says:

    What is this die-cut machine you speak of?!? 😉

Leave a Reply

