Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime

"There are no happy endings. Endings are the saddest part, So just give me a happy middle and a very happy start." -Shel Silverstein

Alphabet Storytime! “D” is for…

on August 12, 2010

Last week we talked about the letter “D”!    First we learned the signs for dolphin, dog, duck, and dinosaur.  I love incorporating sign language into my storytimes.  The kids love learning it and I love teaching it.  Hmm, maybe I’ll do some sort of signing class?  We will see. 

We sang our welcome song Can’t Wait to Celebrate By: Jim Gill

Next we did “Little Mouse, Little Mouse”.  I was going to try to explain how this works because I realized I never did, but Seth is going to post a video on his blog next week and it will be spectacular!

We read Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late By: Mo Willems

Cover from Amazon.com

After that we danced to The Silly Dance Contest By: Jim Gill.  I passed out dancing scarves for this one just to make it a little more exciting to dance and the kids all loved it.  I would definitely recommend using dancing scarves.

Then I read Duck on a Bike By: David Shannon.  You really can’t go wrong with a David Shannon book.

Cover from Amazon.com

Then we did our felt board rhyme, Five Little Ducks.

We ended with our goodbye rhyme!  And here it is because I realized I didn’t ever share it either.

On my face I have a nose, and way down here I have ten toes.  I have two eyes that I can blink, and I have a head to help me think.  I have a chin and very near, I have two ears to help me hear.  I have a mouth that I use to speak, and when I run I use my feet.  I have two arms to hold up high, and here’s a hand to wave goodbye!

I just love that little rhyme!

Our craft this week was coloring a dog with a doghouse, courtesy of the Ellison die cuts 🙂

Leave a Reply

