Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime

"There are no happy endings. Endings are the saddest part, So just give me a happy middle and a very happy start." -Shel Silverstein

Pirate Party Madness

on August 12, 2010

Well things are finally beginning to wind down from our Summer Reading Program.  Our library only participated for 4 or 5 of the 9 weeks (due to the move) but it definitely felt like that long.  A few weeks ago I did a pirate party for school aged kids and let me tell you, KIDS LOVE PIRATES.  But I mean, who doesn’t love pirates right?  At least the fake ones in stories.  We began the party by reading How I Became a Pirate By: Melinda Long.  The kids of course loved that story.  Then the madness began…

We made some fun foam pirate hats from Oriental Trading.  Now let me just say, I’ve used my fair share of stuff from OT and I would say about 40% of the time the quality of it is pretty good.  I was very impressed with these pirate hats.  They had foam pieces that stuck on them and they actually stayed stuck on!

Next we played “pin the parrot on the pirate”.  That was a lot of fun, but there were so many kids that it took some time to have every child participate.  I think I’m going to put “pin the blank on the blanks” away for a looong time.  I say that to myself every time, then I find something that is cool and fits my theme well.  NO MORE!

This next game was so much fun.  We played keep the cannonball up.  Basically I gave everyone a black balloon and it was their “cannonball” so they had to keep it in the air as long as they could and if it fell on the floor, they had to pop it, like a real cannonball.  The only problem here was we didn’t blow the balloons up enough so they were really hard to pop.  Luckily, Seth was there to save the day and pop the balloons for all the kids.  I had a piece of paper inside each balloon that either said, winner, or sorry.  If they got a winner one, they got to pick a pirate duck to keep.  Man, did those kids love pirate ducks.  I didn’t think they would be such a big hit.

Next we did a treasure hunt in the library.  The kids definitely had a lot of fun with this.  I made a treasure map and had different places to find in the library.  When they found the place there was a sticker for them to put on their treasure map.  The last place was to come back to the program room and get their treasure, a pirate pencil.

Last but not least was our snack.  We made treasure maps!  They all loved them!  They each had a square tortilla, cheese to sprinkle on, olive pieces to make a trail, green bell pepper pieces and a pretzel stick to make a palm tree, and  red bell pepper pieces to make an “X” to make the spot.  They turned out very cute.  Here is the one I found online that inspired me.  Cute huh?

So that was my awesome pirate party!  Hope you enjoyed reading about the all craziness.  Oh and I need to send a special shout out to Seth for being awesome and helping with the madness and reading the story in his awesome pirate voice.  Go Seth!

Leave a Reply

