Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime

"There are no happy endings. Endings are the saddest part, So just give me a happy middle and a very happy start." -Shel Silverstein

Dog and his colorful day…

on April 27, 2011

I just wanted to share one of my favorite books to use during storytime.  Actually, I just used it today in ST so I figured I would share what I did with it.  I’m sure most of you have seen/used this book before, so it’s nothing new to you.  But maybe, just maybe, someone out there hasn’t.  Here it is!

It’s a great story about a cute dog (named Dog) who has one black spot on his left ear.  Throughout his day he proceeds to gain more and more colorful spots from various things like pollen, ice cream, grass etc.  When reading this book I love to use a feltboard along with it.  The kids love to watch as the different spots appear on Dog.

Also, I love to do this craft along with it:

I cannot remember where I got the printout of Dog though, I am sorry! *UPDATE*  A very wonderful reader named Lisa found the link I was looking for.  You can click here for all things about Dog.  Thanks again Lisa!  Basically I give all the kids the blank sheet and give them a circle of each color to glue onto Dog.  Thank goodness we have our wonderful Ellison machine to help with the circle cutting.  I tell them to try to remember what items the different spots came from as they put them on Dog OR to make up some new ones!  It gives them a chance to talk about the story with their parent/caregiver and gives them their own version to take home.  I love hearing families talk about it as they do the craft.

I hope you all enjoyed meeting Dog and have a colorful day yourselves!

11 responses to “Dog and his colorful day…

  1. MelissaZD says:

    I love this! We don’t have this book in our collection, so I’m going to try to fix that right away. I also want to put this flannel in a storytime resource pack for our providers! Thanks for sharing!

  2. lisa says:

    I absolutely loved your Dog’s Colorful Day activities. I had to search out the templates. I don’t know if this is the same site you used, but thought I would pass it on to other readers. There is a flannel template, coloring sheet, maze, etc!
    http://www.makinglearningfun.com/themepages/DogsColorfulDay.htm

    Thanks Making Learning Fun!

  3. lisa says:

    Here is the specific link to the felt board for Dog!

    http://www.makinglearningfun.com/themepages/DogsFeltBoard.htm

  4. Toni says:

    I was wondering if you could e-mail the of your dog that I can use it since I am a horrible drawer. Thank you so much. My boss wants me to make this into a flannelboard for our storytime.

  5. […] For our craft we did one to go along with the story, Dog’s Colorful Day.  I tell the families to try and remember how he got each spot.  It really gets them talking and interacting with each other.  I love it!  Here is one of my past posts about Dog and his colorful day. […]

  6. […] are so many great flannels for this story, but I had to share this one that a coworker of mine made. It’s actually a […]

  7. […] seems to pop up everywhere, Dog’s Colorful Day: Me, before Flannel Friday even existed!, Nicole 4.27.11, Anne 5.27.11, Bridget 9.2.11, Danielle 3.2.12, Library Quine & Kendra 9.9.11, Tracey […]

Leave a Reply

