Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime

"There are no happy endings. Endings are the saddest part, So just give me a happy middle and a very happy start." -Shel Silverstein

Flannel Friday: Stuck

on February 24, 2012

For this week’s Flannel Friday I (with the help of Seth) made a version of the book Stuck by Oliver Jeffers.  It isn’t quite a flannel though, after talking with Seth a bit we decided it would be much easier to make into a magnetic board instead.  A flannel would be awesome, but would take so much time, there are tons of things that get stuck in the tree!  So with the help of Microsoft clip art, handy magnetic sheets, a laminator, and a glue gun, here is the finished product:

Check out his awesome blue Chucks!  That’s my favorite part 🙂

Here is the clip art: Stuck Clip art

While making it I had an even better idea, what if the kids could be included in the story?  Before I begin reading I will pass out an item to each child and explain to them that they have to pay extra special attention and when the item is ready to be thrown into the tree they can come up and put it on the board themselves.  There are over 20 items so each child will definitely have one since my storytimes are limited to a certain number of kids.  The only other story I’ve been able to really include them in was Chicka Chicka Boom Boom and they absolutely LOVED coming up to put a letter on the tree.  I can’t count how many times a piece of felt has accidentally fallen to the ground and a sea of preschoolers come rushing to pick it up for me.  There’s something fascinating to them about it.

I can’t wait to see how it goes in a few weeks.  I will let you all know!

50 responses to “Flannel Friday: Stuck

  1. I love the participatory element (and I love the book too)!

  2. Cute! Did you save the file and if so can you share it with me, please?

  3. Kendra says:

    Squeal!!! I love this and am copying at the earliest convenience.
    You’re awesome.

  4. Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

    I had not seen the book yet so I just requested it. My storytime friends love to help with the storytelling so I know this one will be a HUGE hit. It is great for encouraging better listening!

    Would you mind sharing with me , too?

  5. […] her blog Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime, Nicole shares a really cool looking magnet board story based on the book Stuck by Oliver Jeffers. […]

  6. Jamie says:

    What a cute idea! Any chance I can have a copy?

  7. Vanessa Irvine says:

    This is an awesome idea! Is there any chance you could share a copy with me? 🙂

  8. Karleen says:

    Let me jump on the bandwagon. We just received the book this week and your “flannel” will make it much more fun. I would love a copy for our storytime. Thank you for sharing your creative thinking and your generosity.

  9. […] them.  I’ve been waiting and waiting to use the book Stuck By Oliver Jeffers along with the magnetic board I made.  I made the book fit the theme this week because a duck gets stuck in the tree (I know, I […]

  10. Crystal says:

    I can’t wait to make this! Would you mind sending me a copy as well?

  11. Andrea says:

    I love this retell! Would you be willing to share the file with me by email? It is a great activity. Kind regards!

  12. Amy Duggan says:

    LOVE this!! Is there anyway you would share the file with me by e-mail? I would love to use it in my next workshop.

  13. Amy Coomes says:

    I love this…and his blue chucks! Is there anyway you can email me a copy? I can not wait to use it with my preschoolers. Thank you so much for you time.

  14. Leah says:

    This was just what I was looking for! It’s very cute. May I have a copy of your clipart too if it’s not too much trouble?

  15. Holly says:

    This is so cute and such a good way to make this story more relatable for the little ones. If you still have the file, could I have a copy? Thank you!

  16. Tracy says:

    I thought I was being so original in coming up with the flannelboard idea for Stuck. 🙂 Of course, when I Googled it, your wonderful magnetic board came up! I love the interactive idea, too. may I please have a copy of the file, too? Thanks!

  17. Jill P. says:

    What an awesome idea! I am working this summer on next year curriculum and would love a copy of the file as well! Thanks in advance!

  18. Serena says:

    This is great! My coworker and I were just talking about trying to create something like this for our story time! Love it! Could you send me a copy as well? Thank you!!

  19. Stephanie says:

    Love this idea and if possible could you send a copy my way. I am scheduled to do story time in my son’s preschool room soon and have been searching. You have very cute ideas!! Thank you, thank you!!

  20. Stephanie Perkins says:

    I love your ideas! I have a formal observation this coming week. Is there anyway I could get a copy sent my way, also! I can’t wait to use it! Thank you so much

  21. hi, love the work, any chance you could share the file with me at all please?

  22. Andrea says:

    Hi! Could you please send me a copy, as well? I love the story, and I think it will be even more fabulous as a magnet board. Thanks!

  23. Erin says:

    I would love to have a copy of your file to share with my crew. Super cute!! I think this is such a fun story.

  24. Robin says:

    Fantastic! May I have a copy? Thanks!!!

  25. Liz Schwab says:

    Hi! I just built a paper tree for my pre-K room and am so excited to use this story on my first day of school next Tuesday. Would you be willing to share your file with me and save me loads of time? Thank you so much!

  26. veronica says:

    Hi will you be able to send me the file thank you i love this i am doing an author study on Oliver Jeffers. This will be great for a hands on activity.

  27. Carolyn says:

    Hi

    May I have a copy please? Thank you.

  28. Leslie Roc says:

    This is awesome! Using this book to teach Ordinal numbers… May I have a copy please! thank you!

  29. kelownays says:

    I love this story and am using this as well, what an awesome interactive story. May I have a copy please? Thank you!

  30. Sherry says:

    I would love to have this for our plants unit this week!!! Would you mind sharing your copy with me please? Thank you!!!

  31. Krystal says:

    This is fabulous! Would you mind seeding me a copy too please?

Leave a Reply

