Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime

"There are no happy endings. Endings are the saddest part, So just give me a happy middle and a very happy start." -Shel Silverstein

Flannel Friday: Brown Bear, Brown Bear

on November 15, 2013
Brown Bear

The Brown Bear is much bigger than these guys

Okay, so this is more of a storytelling activity than a flannel board.  But I really wanted to share it with you all!  Last week I did a Teddy Bear’s Picnic, so of course everything was bear themed.  I love the story Brown Bear, Brown Bear What Do You See? By: Bill Martin.  I don’t think I know anyone who DOESN’T love that book. I also love to use it because most of the children know the story.  This time around I didn’t want to just read the story, or just use my flannel board, but I wanted the kids to help me tell the story.  When our Outreach Department closed late last year, they had tons of stuff in storage that we were able to use. Kits, crafts, crayons, flannels etc.  Well, I found these great laminated pieces that went along with the story and really wanted to use them.  My idea was to pass one out to each child so that when we came to that animal in the story, they could come up to the front of the room and hold up their animal!  I invited everyone to help me tell the story too.  Of course, I had to make sure I had several pieces of each animal so there would be enough for everyone, but it worked out.  Sometimes we had three ducks and only one cat, it was ok!  By the end of the story all the kids were standing up front holding their animals proudly.  It was a blast!  I will definitely do it again. A few kids didn’t want to come up front, so I told them it was ok to just hold up their animal where they were sitting.  I hope you all can try this next time you tell this story!

Leave a Reply

