Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime

"There are no happy endings. Endings are the saddest part, So just give me a happy middle and a very happy start." -Shel Silverstein

Thumbprint Art!

on August 1, 2012

I decided it would be fun to do a thumbprint art class for a program.  I bought some giant washable ink pads from Lakeshore Learning and checked out Ed Emberly’s Thumbprint art book and got some great ideas.  I knew this would be something the kids would love.  Making art and getting messy, such a great combination!  Here are my examples that I made to show them how to make thumbprint art.  The best part about it is that there are no rules, just use your thumbs and finger to make art!

Clean up in between colors was a breeze using baby wipes (I love those things for crafts!).  I was really surprised at how good the kids were at not mixing the colors!  All 40 of them had a great time.  The best part about such a flexible program was that the age range was 3-11 years old, so most families could have all their kids participate.  This would even be fun to do for a storytime craft!  Hope you all had a much reading this as I did making the art.  It’s very therapeutic!

4 responses to “Thumbprint Art!

  1. Kendra says:

    So cool! The owl and the dinosaur are my favorites. I’m going to suggest this for an after school program in September.

  2. I love this book. i showed it to a mom who was panicked about hosting the craft day at her child’s school. I showed her this book, and she flipped. She came back with her daughter and they had made tshirts using thumbprint art. such an awesome concept… BTW, I plotzed over your little superhero dude.

    • nikarella says:

      He was one of my favs too. Except I realized I didn’t give him any arms, but then I thought, that’s ok! He doesn’t have to have arms! It really is so much fun to do.

Leave a Reply

