Narrating Tales of Preschool Storytime

"There are no happy endings. Endings are the saddest part, So just give me a happy middle and a very happy start." -Shel Silverstein

Flannel Friday: Scat the Cat (Folder Story)

on July 8, 2011

This week I am going to share a folder story that I use frequently during storytime.  I know, I know, this is Flannel Friday, BUT you could totally make this into a flannel as well!  The name of the story is Scat the Cat.  I’m not exactly sure where the story came from but it’s so great to share with the kids.  It’s also VERY interactive and I love using interactive stories.  I think every time I read this story, I get a parent/teacher/caregiver that wants a copy of the story so that they can make their own at home.  I love sharing ideas!  Presenting…Scat the Cat!

Basically the story is about a cat who wants to be different, so he changes into different colors but in the end realizes that he is happy just being himself.  The kid’s favorite part is when we say the rhyme, “I’m Scat the Cat, I’m sassy and fat, I can change my color, just like THAT!”  We always clap when we say the word ‘THAT’.  When his color changes I just take out the construction paper inside the folder and the next color appears!

The story is just printed and taped to the back of the folder so you can read it while showing the kids Scat.  If you click on the picture, you should be able to read the story and copy it down for yourself.  Sorry I don’t have an electronic copy on the computer.

I hope everyone enjoyed my Flannel Friday contribution and enjoy!

18 responses to “Flannel Friday: Scat the Cat (Folder Story)

  1. Sharon H says:

    I *love* (seriously, we’re engaged!) Scat the Cat!!! This is such a better way of doing this story! Hooray!

  2. Katie says:

    I seriously need to make one of these — I love this idea!

  3. [...] (Folder Story): Scat the Cat from Nicole at Narrating Tales of Preschool [...]

  4. Andrea says:

    So slick! Folder stories are one of those new-to-me-because-of-Flannel-Friday ideas that I really want to try. With the added bonus of saying “sassy” over and over, this one’s a winner!

  5. molliekay says:

    So cute! What a great way to do this story!

  6. Kendra says:

    So glad you posted this! My first storytime of the season is colors and this is going to be perfect! It was super easy to re-create, too.

  7. Kiki Sandhu says:

    Awesome Idea! I am going to make it for my class.

  8. Dawn says:

    I love this.. and after finding it here I also found it here->
    http://www.drjean.org/html/monthly_act/act_2009/02_Feb/pg16.html

  9. Gayle says:

    Scat The Cat is a L O N G time favorite. I appreciate this presentation DFW PK

  10. Rita Bhatia says:

    I LOVE all your ideas and I hope I can use them. I volunteer as a Story Teller and the kids love the Flannel Board (Mine is a small one).

    • nikarella says:

      I hope you can too! The great thing is that most can be adapted to be a smaller version. Clip art is one of my favorite things to use and super easy just by gluing felt on the back. Thanks for visiting :)

  11. […] the Lamb Folder story (Just like Scat the Cat except we say: I’m Sam the Lamb, I’m fluffy and fat, I […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

